Baby Pony Tail

by piningforest

Your camouflage tracksuits bottoms

my fuchsia jumper you loved to wear

your navy Levi’s hoodie; soft, sporty girl.

Our grey and white fleece Disney pyjamas

a collage of the things you wore around the place

a sleepy face, putting the kettle on.

The lesbian jeans the night we met

your plethora of swimsuits

my favourite – a blue lean dolphin in the cubicle

your bloody flip flops on your beautifully meaty feet

the sound of them around the flat.

Your horror at mine – barefoot and infant

The tacky t shirts with the text I hated

the crisp shirts you wore

with pride.

I

was

so

proud

of

you.

That damn bucket hat that made me cringe

but you thought

you were the coolest

I wouldn’t dare break that

I said nothing

Smiled.

The cringe turned into endearment 

and yet another reason to

love you.

I loved you in that damn bucket hat.

Your baby ponytail I adored and teased

I’ve forgotten the joke, the ponytail joke.

Feels poignant – I’m devastated.

The memories fall out of me

until one day there will be nothing left.